Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

arbeesketch

artwork by arbeesketch on tumblr

“Stargirl?” you may say. “That’s that dumb book all the girls were reading in the 7th grade!”

To which, I say, “shut up! Shut up right now!”

So here’s my introduction: NYT bestseller, Parents Choice Gold Award Winner, ALA Top Ten Books Award Winner, and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, etc, etc.

(AKA, I don’t care how much of a frat boy you are: go to the library right now)

So, what did you think?

I noticed that this is the most unrealistic realistic YA book ever- like, Spinelli went, “screw the characters, I have a message to send!” What did you think of the message (which, again, was basically “screw conformism!”)?

One thing I didn’t understand was Archie’s character. Like, I found him- not flat, but just unneeded. Thoughts?

Can you understand why everyone was hesitant to accept Stargirl as she was?

(Feel free to just talk about anything else, including how much you loved the book. As with all posts on this site, I’ll be replying to anyone who wants to discuss!)

 

