Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

before i fall

artwork by cinderellainrubbershoes on tumblr

I read this book before I watched Groundhog’s Day. Still, I don’t see how this is a ‘copy’ of that movie, seeing as they have literally one shared characteristic. You know what has more similarities between Before I Fall and Groundhog’s Day? North and South Korea. All of John Green’s books. (I kid.)

Anyway. What did you think?

Lauren Oliver, in interviews, said she hoped that by the end of the book we’d be able to sympathize a bit with the ‘mean girls’. I, for one, didn’t. Of course people are complex, but having sad bits to someone’s life doesn’t make all the bad things they do okay. But that’s just my opinion, how about you?

Something that bothers me is the fact Sam had to go through everything, even though it seemed more appropriate that Lindsay should. Lindsay was the ringleader of the group and Juliet’s main tormenter- wouldn’t it be more sense for her to have to die instead?

(Feel free to just talk about anything else, including how much you loved the book. As with all posts on this site, I’ll be replying to anyone who wants to discuss!)

