The Uglies Series (Uglies, Pretties, Specials, Extras) by Scott Westerfeld

graphic for the uglies series

artwork by thesmokelives on tumblr

We’re going old school today, kids. The Uglies Series came out out between 2005 and 2007, which, in technical terms, was a hella long time ago.

Two disclaimers before we get started:

1. I have not read Extras. NO, COME BACK. I’m sorry! (If you haven’t read the series- the main character of Extras is different from the main character of the first three books, which my 14 year old mind couldn’t comprehend).

2. Uglies, Pretties, and Specials are the only dystopia books I have ever read, unless you count that one time I skimmed the first Hunger Games, which I don’t. So please leave a sophisticated comment if you’re into the genre, because I don’t have any.

So, what did you think?

Was there anything about the ‘new society’ that you think would be beneficial to us now? Did you notice the repeating plot? Was Tally just too annoying?

(Feel free to just talk about anything, including how much you liked or disliked the books. As with all posts on this site, I’ll be replying to anyone who wants to discuss!)

